Community in Algebraic and Enumerative Combinatorics (24w5302)


Marni Mishna (Simon Fraser University)

Olya Mandelshtam (University of Waterloo)

Shaheen Nazir (Lahore University of Management Sciences)

(Dartmouth College)

(DePaul University)


The Banff International Research Station will host the “Community in Algebraic and Enumerative Combinatorics” workshop in Banff from January 7 - 12, 2024.

This five-day workshop will provide a supportive and vitalizing environment for gender minorities in algebraic combinatorics from a wide variety of backgrounds and experiences to share their expertise and to strengthen their presence in the mathematical community. Algebraic combinatorics is a branch of mathematics that engages algebra in various combinatorial settings and conversely, uses combinatorial methods to solve algebraic problems. It has significant connections to representation theory, mathematical physics, algebraic geometry, number theory, knots and links, mathematical biology, statistical mechanics, symmetric functions, invariant theory, computer science, and other areas.

Ultimately, the goal of this workshop is to foster collaboration and advance the state of knowledge in several important and interconnected topics of combinatorics. Moreover, this workshop will improve the visibility and success of women and people from underrepresented gender identities in combinatorics and mathematics more generally. The research and community benefits of this workshop will both support and retain these mathematicians throughout their career stages.

The Banff International Research Station for Mathematical Innovation and Discovery (BIRS) is a collaborative Canada-US-Mexico venture that provides an environment for creative interaction as well as the exchange of ideas, knowledge, and methods within the Mathematical Sciences, with related disciplines and with industry. The research station is located at The Banff Centre in Alberta and is supported by Canada’s Natural Science and Engineering Research Council (NSERC), the U.S. National Science Foundation (NSF), Alberta’s Advanced Education and Technology, and Mexico’s Consejo Nacional de Ciencia y Tecnología (CONACYT).