Dynamical Models Inspired by Biology (24w5209)


(The Ohio State University)

Vincent Calvez (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique)

(University of Notre Dame)

Yuan Lou (Shanghai Jiao Tong University)

Luca Zhang Zhai (Oklahoma State University)


The Banff International Research Station will host the “Dynamical Models Inspired by Biology” workshop in Banff from October 6 - 11, 2024.

This interdisciplinary workshop will combine discussions of recent progress in the study of systems of PDEs and other dynamical models that are inspired by biology. This workshop has three main areas of focus:
1. Understanding the role of dispersal in a changing environment;
2. Selection-mutation models in evolutionary biology;
3. Free boundary models coming from bio-medicine.

We aim to facilitate the exchange of mathematical tools and ideas across the research areas spanned by the participants. Priority will be given to early career scientists, as well as those from under-represented groups.

To help foster the exchange between mathematical and empirical research, this workshop will bring together mathematicians and biologists, each using different approaches to tackle the biological problem at hand. Our aim is two-fold: (a) to stimulate mathematical analysis of the experimental results to guide future experimental efforts, (b) to propose novel mathematical questions that are strongly motivated by realistic biological systems. This workshop will promote further exploration and collaboration across disciplines so that each might be advanced by the other.

The Banff International Research Station for Mathematical Innovation and Discovery (BIRS) is a collaborative Canada-US-Mexico venture that provides an environment for creative interaction as well as the exchange of ideas, knowledge, and methods within the Mathematical Sciences, with related disciplines and with industry. The research station is located at The Banff Centre in Alberta and is supported by Canada’s Natural Science and Engineering Research Council (NSERC), the U.S. National Science Foundation (NSF), Alberta’s Advanced Education and Technology, and Mexico’s Consejo Nacional de Ciencia y Tecnología (CONACYT).